Freytag & Petersen acquires majority stake of Wagener Verpackung

Buy side

Freytag & Petersen acquires majority stake of Wagener Verpackung (bild3.png)

Sell side
Wagener Verpackung

Buy side
Freytag & Petersen

Transfer Partners has advised Freytag & Petersen GmbH & Co. KG, headquartered in Cologne, in the acquisition of the majority shareholding in Wagener Verpackung GmbH, also located in Cologne, and comprehensively advised the Company on the initiation and completion of the transaction.

Freytag & Petersen acquires 75% of the shares in Wagener, while the previous sole shareholder Dirk Wagener will continue to hold 25% of the shares and will remain with the Company as managing director.

Since its foundation in 1920 and as a member company of the leading European specialist wholesale group IGEPA, Freytag & Petersen GmbH & Co. KG has developed into one of the most important companies in the wholesale of graphic products. With around 300 employees and locations in Cologne, Dortmund and Trier, Freytag & Petersen guarantees a high regional presence and on-time delivery through reliable logistics.

Wagener Verpackung GmbH was founded in 1920 and is a medium-sized family business operating throughout Europe. Over the past decades, the Company has established itself on the European market as a system supplier for individual transport and industrial packaging. Taking the consolidation tendencies of the packaging wholesale trade into account, the transaction provides the combined business with a comprehensive product portfolio and specialized logistics serving as key factors for the future success of Freytag & Petersen in the packaging wholesale business.

Transfer Partners' mandate on the side of the buyer ranged from the initiation to support of the transaction process, including the identification and selection of suitable acquisition options in the area of packaging wholesale, to the successful completion of the transaction.

Freytag & Petersen erwirbt Mehrheit an Wagener Verpackung

Buy side

Freytag & Petersen erwirbt Mehrheit an Wagener Verpackung (bild3.png)

Sell side
Wagener Verpackung

Buy side
Freytag & Petersen

Transfer Partners hat die Freytag & Petersen GmbH & Co. KG mit Hauptsitz in Köln bei der Übernahme der Mehrheitsanteile an der Wagener Verpackung GmbH mit Sitz in Köln begleitet und im Rahmen des Transaktionsanbahnung und -umsetzung umfassend beraten.

Freytag & Petersen erwirbt im Rahmen der Transaktion 75% der Geschäftsanteile, während der bisherige Alleingesellschafter Dirk Wagener weiterhin mit 25% beteiligt und dem Unternehmen als Geschäftsführer erhalten bleibt.

Die Freytag & Petersen GmbH & Co. KG hat sich seit ihrer Gründung 1920 und als Mitgliedsunternehmen der IGEPA-Gruppe, einer europaweit führenden Fachgroßhandelsgruppe, zu einem der bedeutendsten Unternehmen im Großhandel für grafische Produkte entwickelt. Mit rund 300 Mitarbeitern und Standorten in Köln, Dortmund und Trier garantiert Freytag & Petersen eine hohe regionale Präsenz und eine termingerechte Belieferung durch eine zuverlässige Logistik.

Die Wagener Verpackung GmbH wurde 1920 gegründet und ist ein europaweit agierendes mittelständisches Familienunternehmen mit Stammsitz in Köln. Das Unternehmen hat sich als Systemlieferant für individuelle Transport- und Industrieverpackungen über die vergangenen Jahrzehnte auf dem europäischen Markt etabliert. Die Umsetzung der Transaktion trägt den Konsolidierungstendenzen des Verpackungsgroßhandels durch die Bereitstellung eines umfassenden Produktportfolios und einer spezialisierten Logistik als Schlüsselfaktoren für den zukünftigen Unternehmenserfolg in der Branche Rechnung.

Das Mandat von Transfer Partners auf Seiten des Käufers erstreckte sich über die Anbahnung und Begleitung des Transaktionsprozesses, einschließlich der Identifizierung und Auswahl geeigneter Akquisitionsoptionen im Bereich Verpackungsgroßhandel, bis zum erfolgreichen Abschluss der Transaktion.