INDUS acquires Heitz

Sell side

INDUS - Heitz (gabriel-jimenez-150063-unsplash.jpg)

Sell side
Heitz Gruppe

Buy side
INDUS Holding AG

Within the scope of the expansion of its portfolio, INDUS Holding AG, based in Bergisch Gladbach, acquired shares of Heitz Group with locations in Melle (Germany), Pusztaszabolcs (Hungary) and Heath (USA).

Transfer Partners was mandated with the complete sales process including the preparation of the transaction-related documents, the research and identification of suitable buyers, the structuring of the due diligence examination and conducting negotiations up to successful completion of the transaction.

Heitz Group produces edge and wrapping veneer made of genuine wood for the furniture and construction industry. The company claims to be one of the world’s largest manufacturers in this segment. The company manufactures its products at its headquarters in Melle and in Pusztaszabolcs, Hungary (50 km south of Budapest), and has a subsidiary in Heath, Ohio, USA. As the edge veneer market is an international market, Heitz currently has an export share of about 70%. In the past fiscal year 2015/16, the Group generated sales revenues of approximately EUR 30 million with its 300 employees.

“With the Heitz Group, we have acquired a highly profitable international market leader in a niche market that was looking for a long-term investor to place the company into new hands. This is sort of a prototype of a typical INDUS deal. At the same time, Heitz Group has strengthen its portfolio in one of our traditional segments. In view of the booming construction industry in Germany and the continued international trend towards high-quality furniture, Heitz is not only an attractive investment for us, but also a good opportunity to grow further.”

Jürgen Abromeit

CEO INDUS

As leading specialist for sustainable corporate investments in the German-speaking mid-market, INDUS acquires owner-managed companies and assists them in their corporate development with a long-term focus. INDUS ensures that its investments can preserve their special strength: their mid-market identity. By acquiring about 40 medium-sized hidden champions over the past decades, INDUS has built up a diversified and successful portfolio. In line with its “buy & hold” strategy, the focus has always been on long-term investments.

The two managing shareholders Guido and Ralf Heitz have sold the company to INDUS in the context of a succession plan, but will remain in place as managing directors.

“We have deliberately chosen INDUS because of its excellent reputation in the company succession market and because we can rely on its promises in the long-term. INDUS will make additional investments and ensure the development of the company. This illustrates our strong belief in a successful future of Heitz, especially for our employees”

Guido Heitz

CEO Heitz Gruppe

INDUS erwirbt Heitz

Sell side

INDUS - Heitz (gabriel-jimenez-150063-unsplash.jpg)

Sell side
Heitz Gruppe

Buy side
INDUS Holding AG

Im Rahmen des Ausbau des Portfolios hat die INDUS Holding AG mit Sitz in Bergisch Gladbach Anteile an der Heitz Gruppe mit Standorten in Melle, Pusztaszabolcs (Ungarn) und Heath (USA) übernommen.

Das Mandat von Transfer Partners umfasste den gesamten Veräußerungsprozess, einschließlich der Erstellung der transaktionsrelevanten Dokumente, der Recherche und Identifizierung geeigneter Kaufinteressenten, der Strukturierung der Due Diligence und der Verhandlungsführung bis zum erfolgreichen Abschluss der Transaktion.

Die Heitz Gruppe produziert Furnierkanten und Ummantelungsfurniere aus Echtholz für die Möbel- und Bauindustrie. Nach eigenen Angaben ist Heitz weltweit einer der größten Anbieter in diesem Segment. Produziert wird am Stammsitz in Melle sowie am Zweigwerk im ungarischen Pusztaszabolcs (50 km südlich von Budapest). Zur Gruppe gehört zudem eine Niederlassung im US-amerikanischen Heath (Ohio). Der Furnierkantenmarkt ist international, die Exportquote von Heitz liegt derzeit bei rund 70%. Im abgelaufenen Geschäftsjahr 2015/16 hat die Gruppe mit rund 300 Mitarbeitern einen Umsatz von rund 30 Mio. Euro erzielt.

„Mit der Heitz Gruppe erwerben wir einen profitablen, international aufgestellten Marktführer in einer Nische, der einen langfristigen, verlässlichen Investor suchte. Das ist sozusagen der Prototyp eines klassischen INDUS-Deals. Gleichzeitig haben wir uns damit in einem unserer angestammten Segmente verstärkt, denn angesichts der boomenden Baubranche in Deutschland und einem international anhaltenden Trend hin zu hochwertigem Wohnen sehen wir in Heitz nicht nur ein attraktives Investment, sondern auch gute Chancen für weiteres Wachstum.“

Jürgen Abromeit

Vorstandsvorsitzender INDUS

Für die Heitz Gruppe bedeutet der Erwerb durch INDUS die Möglichkeit, sich in einem immer internationaleren Geschäft mit ständig steigendem Individualisierungsgrad dauerhaft für weiteres Wachstum aufzustellen. Die beiden derzeitigen Geschäftsführenden Hauptgesellschafter Guido und Ralf Heitz bleiben als Geschäftsführer in der Verantwortung.

„Wir haben uns bewusst für INDUS entschieden, eine aufgrund ihrer hohen Reputation im Markt für Unternehmensnachfolge sehr gute Adresse, auf deren Zusagen wir uns langfristig verlassen können. INDUS wird weiter investieren und das Unternehmen entwickeln. Damit zeigen wir vor allem auch unseren Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern, wie stark wir an eine weiter erfolgreiche Zukunft von Heitz glauben“

Guido Heitz

Hauptgesellschafter Heitz Gruppe